Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Gold,Silver, and Bombs

Jul 27, 2015 by Gloria Antypowich

OMG! Gold, Silver and Bombs, The Phoenix Series Book 2 is a real page turner. Well done Ted Tayler.
The night I started this book, I read until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. The next day I broke my own rule about not reading during the day. I quickly did what I had too around the house and on social media, and then I grabbed my kindle and settled into this fast paced, exciting thriller, until it was done.
I love Vigilante books—and Colin Bailey (“The Phoenix”) captured me immediately. Truthfully, there are times in real life when I think the world could use groups like the Olympus Project to rid society of some of its festering sores. (and they probably do exist!)
This book had it all for me—excitement, drama, suspense, intrigue, sex, filled with great dialogue and rich description. I really enjoyed the way very pertinent modern day social issues were woven into the plot, and the results were not sanitized. They were tragic, just as they would be in real life, and for me it added to the authenticity of the story. I sometimes had to remind myself that this was simply great fiction!

Ted Tayler has become the latest “favorite author” on my list, and I will be reading more of his works. I immediately downloaded Conception. The Birth of Phoenix, and I am going to read The Olympus Project: The Phoenix Series Book 1. I suggest you read them first!


Gold,Silver,and Bombs

Jul 27, 2015 by Maggie Way

This was a very well written and well paced thriller.
I found it really easy to follow the plot, for someone who does not usually read mystery thriller books, but I think Colin and Rusty make a fantastic duo.
Highly recommended for anyone who loves a solid action packed read!


Gold, Silver, and Bombs

Jul 19, 2015 by Ulla Hakanson

“Fast paced action thriller”

Many of my neighbours here in BC come from England. I remember how worried they were before and during the London 2012 Olympic Games. Most everyone I know became affected by the countless media reports about the efforts made to prevent a terrorist attack.

As I read “Gold, Silver and Bombs - The Phoenix #2” by Ted Tayler, I felt I was transported back to that area in time, thrown into the middle of all that effort to protect citizens and visitors alike. Ted Tayler’s fast paced thriller is filled with clever twists and turns. His strong settings create mood and atmosphere. I’m drawn to character-driven novels and would have liked to get to know more about the characters to understand them better. The way the story unfolds is well managed making me eager to keep reading. This is a good story.


Gold, Silver, and Bombs

Jul 18, 2015 by Louis Cecile

A rather bleak alternative of the 2012 London Olympics and sub-plots surrounding topical stories of extremists at university campuses provide the backdrop for this story.
A black ops group have granted themselves free rein to deal with terrorist organizations as they see fit.
There is a particular arrogant and extreme view as they look to serve "justice". The stereotyping of foreigners and the scenarios that play in the beginning create an unease. With both sides as ruthless as each other only those caught in the crossfire have my sympathies.
With such a picture portrayed for a long time in the first half of the story, I wondered if true human elements and psychology would be explored. Thankfully this comes later on, but I feel a deeper look earlier on may have been more beneficial to the story.
Some of the setup feels too easy in progressing the scenarios that appear. However everyday news stories have shown this is highly probable.
The mirrored love interests in both the terrorists and the operational group are interestingly naive in sentiment. Though touch the surface of some humanity in characters with low or confused morals.
The action and pace of the story move quickly to an obvious ending. The lack of someone to really root for leaves an interesting thought as the concept of a good and evil is blurred. Despite it seeming obvious to support this mysterious black ops group. Therefore the continuation of the series will be dependent on traditional protagonists and that human element.
In summary an entertaining story that while being believable could do with more belief


The Olympus Project

Jul 10, 2015 by Mark Fine

Author Ted Tayler is generous to his readers with dynamic characters and intricate plots.

Redemption alone is a powerful force to shape a compelling story. But author Ted Tayler is generous to his reader, and adds a substantial dose of vigilantism, a lead character drowning in past vices, and a privately-funded secretive spy / counter terrorism group to the already charged mix. Cleverly he avoids a cast of mere caricatures, but devotes a chapter each, to fleshing out the motivations and scars of the principal characters driving the Olympus Project (we get to know their real names, but Colin Bailey will only know them by their pseudonyms....a nice touch).

Bailey comes to the task well skilled in eliminating people, but under the direction of his new masters his nihilistic instincts are more productively applied; disposing in creative ways those in positions of power that prey on the weak. And then the sub rosa efforts to provide crucial intelligence and counter terrorism support to Great Britain's official security apparatus (without them knowing about it!). Needless to say creative solutions are required, and this makes "The Olympus Project" immensely more intriguing than conventional spy/vigilante fare.

But these well laid plans may be in jeopardy due to the temptations of a sensual but troubled female, which brings a new level of spice to an already boiling pot. So I look forward to reading next "Gold, Silver, and Bombs"-- author Ted Tayler's sequel in his Colin Bailey "The Phoenix Series.”


Gold, Silver, and Bombs

Jul 02, 2015 by Bbreviews

I really enjoyed the premise of this book and the thought of reading such a fast paced thriller as the other reviews called it. And it was fast paced, just in a different manner.

This book is told from the third person omniscient point of view, one that I'm not fond of, but I didn't hold that against the author. What I didn't enjoy was how fast the author would jump from character to character, often to just dump more information on the reader and go back to the main character, Phoenix. Now the plot was full of twists and turns, which kept me reading, but there were a few grammar and punctuation issues that could have been resolved from having another set of eyes read through. There is a good story here though and for the price, it's a decent buy.
It just needs a couple more wrinkles ironed out.


'Gold, Silver, and Bombs'

Jun 29, 2015 by Elizabeth Horton-Newton

“Gritty and compelling”

In his second book of the Phoenix series, “Gold, Silver, and Bombs”, Ted Tayler ramps up the action and the tension. As the Olympus Project tackles the potential terrorist attacks on the 2012 London Olympics, Colin (Phoenix) rises in the esteem of his fellow Project warriors. The teams pull out all the stops as they attempt to outwit terrorist plans to use the Olympics as a vehicle for their violent assaults on England.
Meanwhile Colin’s private life becomes more complex as his relationship with Athena grows more passionate and an old flame resurfaces. His focus has to remain on the tasks at hand but the alluring Athena is virtually irresistible.
Tayler vividly paints the excitement surrounding the London Olympics while spinning a tale of fear and violence that could have come from world headlines. Managing to integrate Colin’s hard boiled nature with the softer human side is not an easy accomplishment, but Tayler does it neatly. Getting into Colin’s head, he shows the man beneath the steely exterior, making the character so true to life he could be your neighbour.
Leaving the reader hungry for more adventure, Tayler has woven a tale that will keep you racing to learn the outcome. I highly recommend this book and look forward to more challenges for the Olympus Project and Phoenix


'Gold,Silver, and Bombs'

Jun 28, 2015 by Stu Joslin

Tayler's All Gold!

Ted Tayler is back with the second instalment of the Phoenix series, which sees the ice cool serial killer turned secret operative Colin 'Phoenix' Bailey, and the other members of the Olympus Project, in a race against time to save the British public from a group of terrorists targeting the London Olympic Games.

First of all, I would highly recommend reading the first book of this series before you embark on this one, as this will fill you in with a lot of background information on both Bailey and the Olympus Project, how they came to be and what their goals are (Also, it's another great novel!). Happily this novel is more of what I have come to expect from Tayler - it's a well paced thriller that keeps you turning the pages right until the end, with a superbly written denouement that you might not be expecting - I know I certainly wasn't! On finishing the last page I found myself already looking forward to finding out how 'Phoenix' would deal with the events of this book, and what the future holds for the Olympus Project.

There can't be many better thrillers out there this summer - so bag yourself a copy now!


'Gold,Silver, and Bombs'

Jun 28, 2015 by Granite95

Ted Tayler's books are difficult to put down as he draws the reader in with his style of story telling.

Just finished reading this, the second of Ted Tayler’s “Phoenix Trilogy”. The author is on top form again with his choice of both subject matter and the development of his story lines. Yes, we all know that the London Olympics are a distant memory now but it still does not detract from reading about possible scenarios that could have occurred. Whether they would have been dealt with in such an efficient manner in real life is another matter.

The addition of a secondary storyline with the developing relationship between Colin (the Phoenix) and Athena is a means of making Colin almost seem normal. You tend to forget about his list of victims at times and I was waiting for DC Phil Hounsell to make an appearance somewhere in the book. However I suppose the fact that it is the second book in a trilogy meant that it was highly unlikely that the main character would be caught and banged up, or worse!

As with Ted Tayler’s previous offerings I found it very difficult to put my Kindle down as I wanted to know what happened next.

As I await the third instalment of this trilogy I am in two minds as to how I want it to end. There can be no denying that Colin is a cold blooded killer and that he deserves to be punished for his crimes committed prior to his re-invention as the Phoenix. However a part of me can understand that certain members of society today would see him as performing a useful role, especially as, under certain circumstances, various governments around the world have used such clandestine operatives!

As the holiday season approaches you could do far worse than to download this to read on your flight or by the pool!


'Gold,Silver, and Bombs'

Jun 28, 2015 by Sheri A Wilkinson

“A compelling, intense page-turning all night read. I was hooked from the first page!”

The second instalment of The Phoenix series, The Olympics are being held in London. British security services, backed by unseen support from Olympus, are trying to prevent a terror attack on the Games. Could a bomber slip through the net and actually pull this off?

A fast paced action thriller. The characters are well developed. There are those we like, and those we don't. There is a perfect mix of descriptive details, and dialog.

There is quite a bit going on, but the story is very easy to follow. Gold, Silver, and Bombs is compelling, intense, and thrilling. I could not put it down. I was hooked from the first page. Great as a stand alone but I strongly suggest reading book one in the series: The Olympus Project.


Ted Tayler , USA 4.6 5.0 57 57 OMG! Gold, Silver and Bombs, The Phoenix Series Book 2 is a real page turner. Well done Ted Tayler.The night I started this book, I read until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any
Page:
123»

Got something to say? Go for it!


+ six = 10