Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

A Sting In The Tale

Apr 21, 2015 by Lilac Reviews

Great collection and fun reading!

Sometimes you are waiting for your children to get out of football practice, or for your dentist appointment, and would enjoy reading something short, but fun. Maybe you are not sure you want to start on a novel that’s going to take a few days to get through- that’s the perfect time for short stories.
A Sting in the Tale is a collection of short stories that have a bit of a kick to them for the resolution. These will hit the spot. What’s great about this grouping is that there is a bit of variety in the genre of the stories. Some are a bit like a crime story, some the ending is like a punchline to a joke, and some you will go “oh, how cute.” One or two I saw the ending coming, but enjoyed the story nonetheless.
There are a few phrases or words that may seem a little unfamiliar. The author is from Wiltshire and the stories are set in England. They say “write what you know.” So consider the additional vocabulary as part of your tour in the settings. This author’s writing voice is easy going. In one of the first stories, he utilizes the weather almost as another character. It contributes to the mood and maybe heightens the choices the character makes.


A Sting In The Tale

Apr 21, 2015 by Amie Ryan

Superbly crafted and lots of fun!

This is a collection of 10 finely written short stories, each one with a surprise twist at the end. As I was reading it there were several that made me howl with surprise. All of the stories are set in England and although all of them are nicely peppered with British slang, Ted Tayler crafts such clearly written stories that I was able to understand the context immediately, without pause. I really enjoyed the British aspect of this collection. I recommend this book because it's so well written and because it was so much fun to read.


A STING IN THE TALE

Apr 06, 2015 by S.R.Mallery

A Well Done Aptly Named Book!

Ted Tayler’s A STING IN THE TALE is aptly named. Fine, literary writing merges with stinging twist endings in this extremely well written collection of stories that are well plotted and highly visual. Themes such as an unusual confession, business woes and duplicity, a fan with an emphasis on fanatic, shades of ventriloquism, marital murder most foul, sweet revenge on school bullies, and bus stop ghosts, to mention just a few, all make for a very memorable book. Recommended, indeed!


The Olympus Project

Mar 07, 2015 by Charlie Flowers

Slam bang action

The Olympus Project is Book One of a series that reboots a character from Ted Tayler's earlier series, brings him back to life and trains him as a hitman for a strange vigilante outfit based outside Bristol. I liked this as it is almost an "assassination procedural"- unlike almost every other book in the genre, his new employers will back him up and not betray him, and things run smoothly. There is good attention to detail and the pace quickens as the vigilantes become aware of a jihadi suicide bomber cell hellbent on taking out London's West End.


THE OLYMPUS PROJECT

Mar 05, 2015 by Claire Hill

Although I have not yet read The Final Straw, this sequel reads like a stand-alone novel, with every detail of this great crime thriller being clear and understood.

The author's attention to detail is outstanding! We are taken inside the mind of serial killer Colin Bailey, where every minute intricacy of his plan is unravelled. The conclusion of the story is made clear from the start, but the unrelenting pace draws you in and takes you along for the bumpy ride.

This brilliantly told tale is very, very good and the author will join my 'ones to watch' list. If you are a fan of gritty crime thrillers, you need to read Ted Tayler.


The Olympus Project

Feb 21, 2015 by Coco

You will even watch a few twists and turns thrown in for good measure. This book is an OMG story.
The Olympus Project (The Phoenix Book 1) by Ted Tayler is one that when you open to page one, it will grab you and hold you down on the edge of your seat as you watch the pages turn and turn and turn some more. You will even watch a few twists and turns thrown in for good measure. This book is an OMG story. As you read it, you will find yourself pulled in and become a part of the story. This is the first book of a new series by Ted Tayler. I am one who wants more, more, more! Be sure you hold on because you will be starting on a bumpy ride into a fantastic adventure into the world of The Phoenix. Colin Bailey nearly drowns but was rescued by an extremely right-winged group. He is re-trained and used as a serial killer pointed at targets they choose. Colin is no more ..... The Phoenix has risen. He is a loner and a stone cold killer. This is such a great book. I enjoyed reading it very much. It would make a great gift. This book would look good on your bookshelf. I gave it 5 stars but it deserves many, many more. I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially if you enjoy reading suspense, drama, action and fast paced thrillers. You will not regret picking up and reading this book. I look for more by Ted Tayler and am anxiously waiting to read the next book in this series.


A Sting In The Tale

Feb 16, 2015 by Jada Ryker

The Sting Hits When It is Least Expected
Ted Tayler presents a round dozen of his short stories in Sting in the Tale. Each story draws in the reader. Then, when the reader least expects it, there is the sting in the tale!

All of the stories were great, each one its own gem. My personal favourites were Bang to Rights, In Voice, and Come to Rest. Since the stories cross genres, there is something for everyone.


The Olympus Project

Jan 15, 2015 by Mallory Heart Reviews

REVIEW: THE OLYMPUS PROJECT (#1) by Ted Tayler

Imagine James Bond as a crime-eradicating vigilante, employed not by national security but by an extremely wealthy, extremely right-wing private group dedicated to upholding the high standards of the UK--standards that in their view have been rigorously eroded in the past several decades. Colin Bailey, a vigilante serial killer, has literally been resurrected from near-death by this group, to be retrained and used as their tool, pointed at any targets of their choosing. While the world thinks the killer drowned, he will be effective in whatever killing scenario this group decides. This is the first in a new series.


A fast paced thrilling book

Jan 10, 2015 by Melissa M

I received this book for a honest review. Let me start by saying what a fantastic, fast-paced, and thrilling book it was to read. I enjoyed it right through to the end.

You’re drawn into the thrilling life of the agent code named ‘The Phoenix’ from page 1. A group, each one with their own skill sets, founded an organization to help rid the world of those the law lets off too easily. The Olympus Project deals with real world issues that upset our everyday lives. The characters and story are full of richness. As the author weaves the story you’re right there with the characters.

Mr. Tayler has captured my interest. I can’t wait to read the continuation of this series as well as his first two books that delve into life of who The Phoenix was before The Olympus Project.

Nicely done Mr. Tayler.


Fast paced thriller!

Jan 06, 2015 by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

I saved you, so now you must join our group of assassins. That is the concept but it's only the beginning. The Olympus Project, giving the assassins names that fit with the mythology, such as Erebus, Athena and the now saved-from-drowning Phoenix. It's a book that can't be put down until it's finished and it grabs you from the beginning, taking the reader on the journey into the world of Phoenix ... the loner who now is part of a group. Intriguing and highly recommended for those who love an action filled thriller.


Ted Tayler , USA 4.7 5.0 41 41 Great collection and fun reading!Sometimes you are waiting for your children to get out of football practice, or for your dentist appointment, and would enjoy reading something
Page:
12345

Got something to say? Go for it!


+ nine = 16