Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

The Phoenix -part Bond, part Batman

May 24, 2015 by Amanda Miller

This one is different from many I’ve read. It has a bit of an espionage feel to it. The way the organization tracks down and eliminates threats sounds like something out of a James Bond movie. But instead of a government-sanctioned intelligence outfit, The Olympus Project is a group of well funded vigilantes that hide their activities from the world. They have the money and the skills to fight evil from the shadows. So it’s like 007 and Batman teamed up and created a family of rich, fed-up, bad asses who will do whatever it takes to keep their world safe.

I will say that I enjoyed the book immensely. Being a bit of a comic junkie, I thrive on the tragic back-story and the members of The Olympus Project are full of more material than an X-Men issue. But unlike comics, these stories hit a little closer to home. Someone losing those they love to a murderer or a terrorist is a very plausible scenario in our world and I’m sure I’m not the only one who has ever watched an episode of Bones or NCIS (or any other show) and thought about how I would handle such a situation. The characters in this book manage to take their own personal tragedies and use it as motivation to fix the world; and each of the bigwigs in the organization has their own cross to bear that has driven them to become a protector of the weak and defenceless.

The story was very intriguing and well written. The author throws in a lot of detail about the people and the scenery so it is easy to picture the story in your head. There was a bit of a language barrier for me though. Yes, it is written in English but the dialect is very British. Now, words like boot and jumper, I understand perfectly but there are some words used very differently across the pond than here in the states and I’m not an anglophile so some of it went right over my head. The majority of it I was able to discern from context but there were a few words that I never did understand.

I also found difficulty with the structure–particularly paragraphs and punctuation. I’m not sure if it is a difference in writing conventions between the US and UK or if it may have been a formatting issue but dialogue was separated from the paragraphs and sometimes it took rereading to see who was speaking, then internal commentary was also in quotations so it was difficult to know if the character was speaking or not. There were also comma issues and an excessive use of exclamation points that I found distracting enough to negatively impact the overall rating. I say this one deserves an 4.25 star rating. It has a great story and well developed characters that I look forward to reading more about in the future.


Action packed and sexy!

May 22, 2015 by Elizabeth Horton-Newton

When is a bad guy not really a bad guy? When he is Phoenix in Ted Tayler’s exciting book “The Olympus Project”. Tayler wastes no time in getting the action started in this high tech, guns blazing story of Colin Bailey. When I picked this book I didn’t realize Colin Bailey had made his initial appearance in an earlier Tayler book. This says a lot for “The Olympus Project” since it stands perfectly on its own. Tayler does a great job of giving Colin’s back story while weaving a tale of political intrigue, secret organizations, and romance. From the moment Colin Bailey is saved from drowning the story moves forward fluidly. Each new character is introduced and developed cleverly. Colin is drawn into the secret organization, The Olympus Project, and is re-named Phoenix. This seems a particularly brilliant choice since the rest of the world does not know that Colin is still alive. He has in fact, been raised from the ashes of his past life to be reborn as a trained and efficient killing machine. These killings are assigned by the mysterious group of British gentlemen and one very sexy woman based on the evil doings of the targets. These targets have escaped more conventional methods of punishment so the Project steps forward to take out the trash. Over the years they have developed a trained group of operatives with the demand their work remain secret. As Phoenix embarks on his assignments he perfects his already excellent skills and becomes a top champion of good versus evil. Using brilliant details and plans Tayler creates missions that are both exciting and believable. Underneath it all he generates a sexual tension between Phoenix and the emotionally wounded but very sensual Athena. Carrying painful baggage from her past she is reluctant to become involved with Phoenix but the desire increases and soon she has to admit what her fellow cabal members already know. Using current issues of political and economic concern Tayler gives the story an intensely realistic feel. By the end of the book I was panting for more. I can’t wait to read the next instalment. Tayler wisely leaves the reader with questions that demand answers. While I’m waiting for the sequel I plan to go back to Colin Bailey’s roots to learn more about what makes this fascinating character tick.


A Rousing Good Time!

May 17, 2015 by Wolfgang Schimanski

The Olympus Project endeavours to reach some lofty heights …no pun intended. A very well written book describing the antics of a few British gents who have decided enough is enough by setting up an organization dedicated to wiping out the world’s evils, one strike at a time. And they never leave any trace of their handy work once the job is done. Add a crafty new member to the team named Colin a.k.a. Phoenix and a sexy co-assassinator named Athena certainly provided some spice, killing skills and tension to the whole ball of wax. Very entertaining, I personally would have liked to see a lot more action and intrigue although the depictions of various British and abroad locations kept things moving smoothly along. An enjoyable book.


Sweet savoury

May 10, 2015 by Cassandra

Rich in detail and bitingly honest . A superb collection of stories encapsulating the grim the ghoulish and the bizarre. Will gratify the intellect and frazzle the nerves .


A Sting In The Tale

Apr 21, 2015 by Lilac Reviews

Great collection and fun reading!

Sometimes you are waiting for your children to get out of football practice, or for your dentist appointment, and would enjoy reading something short, but fun. Maybe you are not sure you want to start on a novel that’s going to take a few days to get through- that’s the perfect time for short stories.
A Sting in the Tale is a collection of short stories that have a bit of a kick to them for the resolution. These will hit the spot. What’s great about this grouping is that there is a bit of variety in the genre of the stories. Some are a bit like a crime story, some the ending is like a punchline to a joke, and some you will go “oh, how cute.” One or two I saw the ending coming, but enjoyed the story nonetheless.
There are a few phrases or words that may seem a little unfamiliar. The author is from Wiltshire and the stories are set in England. They say “write what you know.” So consider the additional vocabulary as part of your tour in the settings. This author’s writing voice is easy going. In one of the first stories, he utilizes the weather almost as another character. It contributes to the mood and maybe heightens the choices the character makes.


A Sting In The Tale

Apr 21, 2015 by Amie Ryan

Superbly crafted and lots of fun!

This is a collection of 10 finely written short stories, each one with a surprise twist at the end. As I was reading it there were several that made me howl with surprise. All of the stories are set in England and although all of them are nicely peppered with British slang, Ted Tayler crafts such clearly written stories that I was able to understand the context immediately, without pause. I really enjoyed the British aspect of this collection. I recommend this book because it's so well written and because it was so much fun to read.


A STING IN THE TALE

Apr 06, 2015 by S.R.Mallery

A Well Done Aptly Named Book!

Ted Tayler’s A STING IN THE TALE is aptly named. Fine, literary writing merges with stinging twist endings in this extremely well written collection of stories that are well plotted and highly visual. Themes such as an unusual confession, business woes and duplicity, a fan with an emphasis on fanatic, shades of ventriloquism, marital murder most foul, sweet revenge on school bullies, and bus stop ghosts, to mention just a few, all make for a very memorable book. Recommended, indeed!


The Olympus Project

Mar 07, 2015 by Charlie Flowers

Slam bang action

The Olympus Project is Book One of a series that reboots a character from Ted Tayler's earlier series, brings him back to life and trains him as a hitman for a strange vigilante outfit based outside Bristol. I liked this as it is almost an "assassination procedural"- unlike almost every other book in the genre, his new employers will back him up and not betray him, and things run smoothly. There is good attention to detail and the pace quickens as the vigilantes become aware of a jihadi suicide bomber cell hellbent on taking out London's West End.


THE OLYMPUS PROJECT

Mar 05, 2015 by Claire Hill

Although I have not yet read The Final Straw, this sequel reads like a stand-alone novel, with every detail of this great crime thriller being clear and understood.

The author's attention to detail is outstanding! We are taken inside the mind of serial killer Colin Bailey, where every minute intricacy of his plan is unravelled. The conclusion of the story is made clear from the start, but the unrelenting pace draws you in and takes you along for the bumpy ride.

This brilliantly told tale is very, very good and the author will join my 'ones to watch' list. If you are a fan of gritty crime thrillers, you need to read Ted Tayler.


The Olympus Project

Feb 21, 2015 by Coco

You will even watch a few twists and turns thrown in for good measure. This book is an OMG story.
The Olympus Project (The Phoenix Book 1) by Ted Tayler is one that when you open to page one, it will grab you and hold you down on the edge of your seat as you watch the pages turn and turn and turn some more. You will even watch a few twists and turns thrown in for good measure. This book is an OMG story. As you read it, you will find yourself pulled in and become a part of the story. This is the first book of a new series by Ted Tayler. I am one who wants more, more, more! Be sure you hold on because you will be starting on a bumpy ride into a fantastic adventure into the world of The Phoenix. Colin Bailey nearly drowns but was rescued by an extremely right-winged group. He is re-trained and used as a serial killer pointed at targets they choose. Colin is no more ..... The Phoenix has risen. He is a loner and a stone cold killer. This is such a great book. I enjoyed reading it very much. It would make a great gift. This book would look good on your bookshelf. I gave it 5 stars but it deserves many, many more. I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially if you enjoy reading suspense, drama, action and fast paced thrillers. You will not regret picking up and reading this book. I look for more by Ted Tayler and am anxiously waiting to read the next book in this series.


Ted Tayler , USA 4.6 5.0 45 45 This one is different from many I’ve read. It has a bit of an espionage feel to it. The way the organization tracks down and eliminates threats sounds like something out of a Jam
Page:
12345

Got something to say? Go for it!


8 + three =