Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Unfinished Business

Apr 05, 2014 by ted tayler

A superb sequel to 'The Final Straw' 30 Mar 2014
By Stu Joslin

After the roller coaster ride that was last year's effort 'The Final Straw', Ted Tayler brings back serial killer Colin Bailey for a second outing in 'Unfinished Business', with DCI Phil Hounsell still hot on his heels after Bailey decides to return to the country, and return to work!

Much like it's predecessor, this tale grips you and refuses to let go, and from the moment Bailey joins an Iron Maiden tribute band in order to weave his way around the country and attend to his 'unfinished business', to the final showdown with his policeman nemesis on the streets of Bath, you'll end each sitting wanting more.

At this price I'm not sure you can go wrong - have a download and see for yourself!


The Final Straw

Jan 01, 2014 by Ruby Weatherford

Is the story plot or character driven?
Plot driven because Colin’s actions fuelled the story more than the other characters. At times, it also felt as if the other characters could have been replaced or substituted with similar people but Colin was one of a kind.
Is the plot well-developed?
When I started reading this book, the plot although well-developed seemed outlandish to me. Then I watched The Iceman which is the semi-fictional life story of Richard Kuklinski who was a professional hit man and The Final Straw made more sense than I thought.
Who in this book would you most like to meet?
Karen because I want to know how she has moved on and the depths of how Colin has affected her. I did feel that this relationship could have been explored a little bit more as there was a sense of desperation about the two of them when they were together.


The Final Straw

Jan 01, 2014 by Carrie Latham

Does the premise make sense and is it engaging?
The premise was engaging and held my interest but I’m not sure I fully understand Colin Bailey and his motivations. It was easy to understand Karen and Sue but Colin was a puzzle and it felt like he had more than revenge on his mind.
What did you think about the dialogue?
It was colloquial and easy to understand. There wasn’t too much dialogue because the story read like it was studying or analysing Colin’s mind. I wonder if there’s going to be sequel where Colin’s relationships are explained from a different perspective? I highly recommend this book but it did feel as if some more resolution was needed for Colin.
Which characters do you particularly admire or dislike?
I’m still not decided about Sue. The scene where she flirts with Colin after Eric’s funeral, it was weird. In all fairness, she did surprise me more than once in the book but she’s definitely not my favourite character in the story.


The Final Straw

Jan 01, 2014 by David White

Do you find the characters convincing?
Sue Owens was quirky but I loved how her character was developed into the story and by the end she had become a central part in Colin’s life. Karen was the most convincing. She wasn’t sure how to go on after Sharron’s death and clung to whatever shreds of hope, lust and normalcy she could.
What did you think about the overall tone?
Each character’s voice is significantly different from the other and the tone of the story changes as they each make an appearance. Karen’s tone and setting is gloomy and unappealing, Sue is over the top and Colin is dark.
Is the plot satisfactorily resolved?
We discussed this in every way we could. The plot was satisfactorily resolved up to the point Colin and Karen but the police investigation and the way things ended with Colin leave the resolution to the reader. I really enjoyed this book.


The Final Straw

Jan 01, 2014 by Joey Finnley

Did anyone in the book do something you did not like?
Colin killed and physically hurt people more than once. I definitely do not like him as a person but as a main character, he was extremely interesting and his lack of emotion was so well depicted to the point it can make your skin crawl.
Was there more than one conflict in the story?
Each character was dealing with at least one major conflict in his or her life. Sue Owens found out what Colin was doing and then became conflicted about how to cover it up or conceal it, Karen was in desperate need of someone to talk to and heal after losing their baby but was so conflicted she started having sex with random men every Wednesday and Colin was just so conflicted he wanted to physically destroy the conflicts in his life.
Was the timeline easy to follow?
Each scene flowed to the next scene in a cohesive manner and it was easy to understand time passing and the movement of the characters. Every page sucked me into the story more and more, and I always felt like I could follow everything that was happening in the book and I could easily feel the emotions of the characters.


The Final Straw

Jan 01, 2014 by Amy Logan

Which did you find more appealing, the introduction or the conclusion? The conclusion. It was unexpected and at the same time intriguing. The complicated characters have their layers peeled off and readers are able to see them bare trying to cope with their respective losses. Colin and Karen are trying to cope with the death of their daughter and Sue is ‘celebrating’ the death of her husband, Eric.
Why would you recommend or not recommend this book? I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is looking to read a mystery or suspense book. The characters are vivid and it was well-written, both ingredients for a fantastic read.
Did the plot pull you in or did you feel you had to force yourself to read the book?
The Final Straw pulled me in and was great from the beginning. Despite Colin’s actions, I believe that this book touches real life issues of loss, dying and a sense of purpose.


The Final Straw

Oct 18, 2013 by john healy

Well now...how many Colin Baileys are out there,,,,scary thought. A well written, totally captivating read,from the first page onwards. Hope this is a trilogy


The Final Straw

Oct 18, 2013 by James Noel

Did the plot pull you in or did you feel you had to force yourself to read the book? The plot pulled me in from the first page. The story is original, the characters unique and the writing is absolutely moving.
How realistic was the characterization? Very realistic. I'm assuming the author has done some research or experienced some kind of investigation like Colin.
What was your memorable scene? When Eric dies, and Sue starts making a list of things to do. Very little love those there.


The Final Straw

Oct 18, 2013 by Kevin Fords

What were the main relationships explored in this book? Family. Colin's family is dysfunctional and just when he thinks he finally has created a safe zone for himself and his family, everything comes crashing down.
3 things I liked about the book … I loved the writing and the fact that it was a quick read. Lastly, I liked the use of Colin's relationships and interactions with other people to show how dysfunctional things are.
Favourite character(s) … Karen. She appears to be the most human of all and her emotions are the most realistic.


The Final Straw

Oct 18, 2013 by George Edwards

Which did you find more appealing, the introduction or the conclusion? The conclusion. The introduction only lets you meet the characters and nothing much is really happening. But towards halfway in the book, you just don't want to put it down.
Why would you recommend or not recommend this book? I definitely recommend this book. The characters are well-developed and the plot is simply fascinating.
Did the book description relate to the story? Yes it did, and without giving too much away, I think anyone who read the description will definitely read it.


Ted Tayler , USA 4.7 5.0 16 16 A superb sequel to 'The Final Straw' 30 Mar 2014By Stu JoslinAfter the roller coaster ride that was last year's effort 'The Final Straw', Ted Tayler brings back serial killer
Page:
12

Got something to say? Go for it!